fbpx

PISA 冠军:为什么新加坡学生是世界上最好的?

分享到 facebook
分享
分享到 linkedin
分享
分享到 twitter
鸣叫
World map with SG

新加坡的学生在批判性思维方面表现出色。

2016 年,5,000 名新加坡学生的随机样本在英语、数学和科学方面的全球 PISA 排名中名列前茅。经合组织创建了 PISA 测试,每年进行 3 次。该调查包括来自世界各地的 60 多个国家。对世界各地的 15 岁儿童进行测试,以了解他们如何运用自己的知识解决问题。换句话说,PISA 评估学生的批判性思维能力。

批判性思维的定义是什么?

没有必要为了批判性思考而记住事实。另一方面,具有批判性思维能力的人可以:

  1. 快速筛选大量移动数据以解决问题
  2. 筛选相关数据以预测未来事件
  3. 收集准确可靠的数据,以建立公正的判断或想法
  4. 当人们无法辨别事实和想法之间的联系(模式)
  5. 形成自主快速的判断
  6. 了解想法为何重要以及如何重要
  7. 有条不紊地处理困难。
  8. 能够反思和发现自己观点中的缺陷,即能够思考自己的想法
  9. 能够以理性和有说服力的方式总结、解释和传达自己的想法。

 

批判性思维的意义是什么?

  1. 在这个一切,尤其是信息和意见,变化如此之快的时代,它让我们的思维变得灵活。
  2. 它使我们能够提出其他人无法立即理解的“独特”想法和解决方案。
  3. 它使我们能够查看更大的图景并确定手头的真正挑战。
  4. 当面对模棱两可的困难或挑战时,它使我们能够自我教育和自助。

 

为什么新加坡孩子在 PISA 考试中表现如此出色?

新加坡的教育体系或氛围是什么让学生在 PISA 考试中表现出色?

1. 新加坡考试

看看其他国家的标准化考试,以及新加坡使用的PSLE和O-level试卷,你会发现一些东西:-

#1新加坡考试真的很难。

#2 新加坡的学生要做的不仅仅是记住事实。

 

在新加坡,有很多关于死记硬背的讨论。令人惊讶的是,新加坡学校系统的独特之处在于它更加注重批判性思维和应用能力,而不是仅仅记忆。正如经验丰富的教育工作者所知道的那样,要找出能够推理、合理化和预测未来情景的学生要比找到一个能够有效记忆的孩子要困难得多。

 

a) 小学教育中的 PSLE(7 至 12 岁)

一世) 数学

新加坡数学模型技术建立于 1980 年代。学生利用矩形条来描绘此模型绘图或“条形图”方法中已知量和未知量之间的联系。换句话说,年幼的孩子无需求助于代数就学会了将问题可视化。此外,算术应用题教孩子们将各种数学原理应用于现实世界的情况。这种教授数学的方法现在被认为非常有效,以至于一些英国和美国的学校在他们的祖国采用了这种方法。

 

(二) 英语

英语最困难的方面是我的理解、(ii)完形填空段落和(iii)作文。学生必须能够通过寻找 I 和 (ii) 中的线索来推断(有效预测)。最新的作文格式 (iii) 要求学生通过将给定主题与所提供的一张、两张或三张照片联系起来来撰写引人入胜的故事。以灵活和无限的方式融合标题和照片的能力展示了学生编织一个有趣、创新和明智的故事的能力。最后,视觉文本/理解是 PSLE 格式的最新补充。此海报格式旨在教学生如何阅读、消化和应用所提供的信息,以得出自己的结论。在考查英语的同时,很明显 PSLE 英语考试也是为了评估学生的思维能力而设计的。

 

科学

多年来,PSLE 论文中的模式表明越来越重视学生将科学概念应用于现实生活实例的能力。学生必须能够推断、预测、分析、检查和展示他们的想法。这需要个人批判性思考的能力。

在之前的 PSLE 问题中,学生被要求解释咖啡店的细水雾系统如何冷却周围的空气。这个问题让很多孩子感到困惑,因为他们无法将这个例子与他们在学校学到的任何东西联系起来。这个例子展示了学生应该如何将理论应用于现实世界的情况。这是如何向孩子们教授批判性思维的一个例子。

 

b) 新加坡-剑桥 GCE O-level 中学教育考试(13-15 岁)

新加坡教育部自2006年开始负责GCE O-level课程。虽然剑桥大学继续对这些试卷进行评分,但英国O-level和新加坡O-level课程之间没有任何联系。虽然英国 GCSE O-levels 得到国际认可,但对该系统令人担忧地降低标准的批评促使英国政府在 2017 年对其进行了改造。

另一方面,新加坡 GCE O-level 考试定期进行修订和修改,以使该项目对年轻人更加严格。许多离开该国继续深造的新加坡 O-level 学生声称在 16 岁之前已经学习了一些英国 A-levels 或澳大利亚 HSC 课程。换句话说,新加坡 O-levels 的要求非常高。

 

2.文化环境

许多人高度重视教育。亚裔移民在美国和英国的杰出学术成就是家常便饭,体现了对教育的文化态度。中国、日本、韩国和印度学生在国际数学竞赛中的成功也证明了这一点。新加坡人的祖先来自中国、印度和马来西亚,他们在教育方面有着相似的目标导向方法。随着社会变得更加富裕和全球化,越来越多的父母将教育视为孩子生活的重要方面。

 

3. Tuition and Enrichment 在行业中的作用

与许多其他亚洲国家一样,新加坡的补习和补习部门正在蓬勃发展。虽然有些人声称他们的存在是由于“kiasu-ism”,但很少有人会认为专业经营的中心和敬业的退休教练有助于许多孩子的出色表现。

大多数新加坡儿童如果在某个主题上很差,就会接受家庭辅导。这是因为学费旨在帮助陷入困境的学生赶上他们的学业。另一方面,充实是针对那些我在更小、更集中的课堂环境中做得更好的孩子,并且 (ii) 需要在传统学校课程之外进行额外的刺激,即他们获得更深入和更广泛的科目。许多小学基础扎实的孩子适应中学的速度更快。

能够适应不断变化的条件和信息的学生将随着世界的快速发展而繁荣。虽然像 PISA 这样的奖项是了不起的,但真正的考验是当学生们走进现实世界并开始工作时。

分享到 facebook
分享
分享到 linkedin
分享
分享到 twitter
鸣叫

相关文章

作者

IMG
汉娜
一个

关于 SCC

让所有学生在科技教育中获得乐趣和进步的重要性是我们的座右铭。我们希望我们的学生不仅为自己,也为社会创造更美好的未来。无论是为自己的电子游戏编程、为自己的卡通动画制作动画,还是构建机器人,我们的导师都可以通过我们的课程指导他们寻找更新的观点并探索未发现的发现。

fbpx

Champions in PISA: Why are Singapore Students the Best in the World?

Share on facebook
Share
Share on linkedin
Share
Share on twitter
Tweet
World map with SG

Students in Singapore perform exceptionally well in critical thinking.

A random sample of 5,000 Singapore pupils topped the global PISA rankings in English, Mathematics, and Science in 2016. The OECD created the PISA tests, which are administered three times a year. The survey included more than 60 countries from around the world. Tests are given to 15-year-olds all throughout the world to see how well they apply their knowledge to solve issues. PISA, in other words, assesses pupils’ critical thinking abilities.

What is the definition of critical thinking?

It is not necessary to memorize facts in order to think critically. A person with critical thinking skills, on the other hand, can: –

  1. quickly sift through vast amounts of moving data in order to solve problems
  2. sift through pertinent data in order to predict future events
  3. gather accurate and reliable data in order to establish impartial judgments or ideas
  4. discern connections (patterns) between facts and thoughts when people are unable to
  5. form autonomous and rapid judgments
  6. understand why and how ideas are significant
  7. approach difficulties in a methodical manner.
  8. able to reflect on and detect flaws in one’s own views, i.e. to be able to think about one’s own ideas
  9. able to summarize, explain, and convey one’s thoughts in a rational and persuasive manner.

 

What is the significance of critical thinking?

  1. In an age when everything, especially information and opinions, changes so quickly, it allows us to be flexible in our thinking.
  2. It enables us to come up with ‘unique’ ideas and solutions that are not immediately apparent to others.
  3. It enables us to view the larger picture and identify the real challenges at hand.
  4. When confronted with ambiguous difficulties or challenges, it allows us to self-educate and self-help.

 

Why do Singaporean children perform so well on the PISA exam?

What is it about Singapore’s educational system or atmosphere that allows its students to excel in PISA tests?

1. Exams in Singapore

Take a brief look at the standardized examinations used in other countries, as well as the PSLE and O-level exam papers used in Singapore, and you’ll notice something:-

#1 Singapore examinations are really difficult.

#2 Students in Singapore are expected to do far more than memorize facts.

 

In Singapore, there has been a lot of talk about rote learning and memorizing. Surprisingly, the Singapore school system is unique in that it places a greater focus on critical thinking and application abilities than on memorization alone. It is considerably more difficult to identify pupils who can reason, rationalize, and forecast future scenarios than it is to find a child who can memorize effectively, as experienced educators know.

 

a) The PSLE in Primary School Education (7 to 12 years old)

i) Mathematics

The Singapore model technique of mathematics was established in the 1980s. Students utilise rectangular bars to depict the link between known and unknown quantities in this model drawing or ‘bar drawing’ method. To put it another way, young kids learn to visualise issues without having to resort to algebra. Furthermore, arithmetic word problems teach children to apply various math principles to real-world situations. This approach of teaching Maths is now deemed to be so effective that it has been adopted by some British and American schools in their native nations.

 

(ii) English

The most difficult aspects of English are I comprehension, (ii) cloze passages, and (iii) composition. Students must be able to infer (predict effectively) by looking for clues in I and (ii). The most recent composition format (iii) requires students to compose a compelling story by connecting the given topic with one, two, or three of the provided photographs. The ability to blend the title and photos in a flexible and unlimited manner demonstrates pupils’ capacity to weave an intriguing, innovative, and yet sensible story. Finally, visual text/comprehension is the most recent addition to the PSLE format. This poster format is intended to teach pupils how to read, digest, and apply the information provided in order to arrive at their own conclusions. While the English language is examined, it is apparent that the PSLE English examination is also designed to evaluate the students’ thinking ability.

 

(iii) Science

The pattern in PSLE papers throughout the years demonstrates a growing emphasis on students’ ability to apply science concepts to real-life instances. Students must be able to deduce, forecast, analyze, examine, and present their ideas. This necessitates the ability of individuals to think critically.

Students were asked to explain how a coffee shop’s water mist system can chill the surrounding air in a previous PSLE question. This question baffled a lot of kids since they couldn’t connect this example to anything they’d learned in school. This example demonstrates how students should apply theory to real-world situations. And this is an example of how critical thinking is taught to kids.

 

b) The Singapore–Cambridge GCE O-level Exam in Secondary School Education (13–15 years old)

Singapore’s Ministry of Education has been in charge of the GCE O-level curriculum since 2006. Although Cambridge University continues to mark these exam papers, there is no connection between the UK O-level and Singapore O-level programs. While the UK GCSE O-levels are internationally recognized, criticism about the system’s worryingly dropping standards spurred the British government to revamp it in 2017.

The Singapore GCE O-level tests, on the other hand, have been regularly revised and altered to make the program more rigorous for its youth. Many post-O-level Singapore pupils who leave the country to further their education claim to have studied some of the UK A-levels or Australian HSC curriculum before turning 16. To put it another way, the Singapore O-levels are extremely demanding.

 

2. The Cultural Environment

Many place a high value on education. The outstanding academic achievements of Asian immigrants in the United States and England are commonplace, reflecting the cultural attitude toward education. This is also evidenced by the success of Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Indian students in international math competitions. Singaporeans with forebears from China, India, and Malaysia share a similar goal-oriented approach to schooling. More and more parents consider education as a vital aspect of their children’s life as society becomes more affluent and globalized.

 

3. Tuition and Enrichment’s Role in the industry

Singapore’s tuition and enrichment sector, like that of many other Asian countries, is thriving. While some claim that their existence is due to ‘kiasu-ism,’ few would argue that professionally run centers and dedicated retired instructors contribute to many kids’ great performance.

Most Singaporean children receive home tutoring if they are very poor in a topic. This is because tuition is intended to assist struggling students in catching up on their schoolwork. Enrichment, on the other hand, is for children who I do better in a smaller, more focused class setting and (ii) require additional stimulation outside of the conventional school curriculum, i.e. they acquire subjects in greater depth and breadth. Many children who have a strong foundation in primary school adapt to secondary school more quickly.

Students who are capable of adapting to changing conditions and information will prosper as the world moves quickly. While such awards like PISA are remarkable, the real test comes when the students walk out into the real world and begin working.

Share on facebook
Share
Share on linkedin
Share
Share on twitter
Tweet

Related Posts

Authors

IMG
Hannah
a
Jin

About SCC

The importance of having fun and progress in tech education for all our students is our motto. We want our students to create a better future not only for themselves but also for society. Whether it’s programming their own videogame, animating their own cartoon, or building a robot, our tutors can guide them to find newer outlooks and explore unfound discoveries through our courses.