fbpx

无需考试即可跟踪您孩子的学业进度

分享到 facebook
分享
分享到 linkedin
分享
分享到 twitter
鸣叫
Lower primary kids

新加坡教育部于 2019 年宣布,将取消小学 3 和 5 年级学生的年中考试,以及今年年初生效的小学 1 和 2 年级学生的学校考试。学校没有考试吗?这当然是一件值得庆幸的事情,因为这意味着孩子、父母甚至老师都会少担心一件事情。

 

为什么学校没有考试?

教育部打算从成绩转向更全面的学习环境。毕竟,作为成年人,我们明白生活不仅仅是我们的成绩。除了纸质考试之外,还有许多其他衡量学习的技术。但是,有些人担心这可能是一个问题。家长如何评价孩子的学业进步?父母会不会发现孩子挣扎得太晚,让他们错失改变方向和帮助孩子进步的宝贵机会?虽然超越成绩至关重要,但父母还必须跟踪孩子的学业进步,以便提供帮助永远不会太迟。

在没有考试的情况下,您可以做些什么来跟踪孩子的学业发展?

 

1. 与他们讨论您孩子的上学日。

许多父母感叹这样一个事实,当我们问孩子他们的日子过得怎么样时,他们只会回答“好”或“好”。与其对他们的一天进行广泛的“是/否”询问,不如让他们告诉您他们认为特别有趣的特定课程或学习点。最好先向他们询问非学术话题,例如他们在课间休息时做了什么以及他们是否喜欢它。许多学生还喜欢讨论他们的课外活动,这为他们的学校生活提供了迷人的一瞥。

 

2. 留意孩子的作业。

通过浏览他们标记的作业来检查他们的功课也很重要。评估孩子学习的最好方法是观察他们每天的表现。他们真的犯了很多错误吗?他们会犯什么类型的错误?如果您的孩子的书上有很多红色标记,请尽量不要生气或生气,因为这会很快使他们处于防御状态并破坏他们对学习的积极态度。相反,与他们坐下来,试着找出他们犯某些错误的原因。他们的写作草率吗?老师有没有说他们误解了什么?他们有可能提高他们的拼写吗?与在今年晚些时候处理大量积压相比,频繁地发现微小的改进要容易得多。

 

3. 作为家长,改变你评估学习的方式。

年幼的孩子通常能够口头回答问题,但很难将他们的想法写在纸上。这是一个正常的、发展的过程,也是低级考试被淘汰的根本原因。许多孩子可以理解他们思想中的概念和想法,但他们无法写出或拼写他们的想法,这使他们望而却步。没有必要担心;大多数孩子,尤其是当年晚些时候出生的孩子,都会自己赶上。辅导课程,例如 SCC 课程,有时可以提供帮助。教育部初等课程的结构与SCC的学习方法密切相关,帮助学生快速掌握众多规则和能力的应用。这意味着父母可以信任专家来监督孩子的教育。

 

4. 定期与老师保持联系。

许多学校现在都有个性化的应用程序,可以让教师和家长轻松沟通。这意味着您可以直接联系孩子的老师,让您可以解决任何问题或询问他们的进度。虽然大多数学校都会定期举行家长会,但如果您对孩子的教育有特别的担忧,您也可以通过电话或电子邮件联系孩子的老师。提出明确的问题,例如,“我的孩子在课堂上发言回答问题吗?”与其问关于您孩子在学校表现如何的非具体问题,不如问:“我的孩子上课时注意力集中吗?”但是,请记住,教师要管理许多巨大的教室以及他们自己的家庭。确保您的查询简洁直接。只在工作时间与他们沟通,如果他们需要一段时间才能回复,请耐心等待。

 

没有测试,但需要定期评估。

即使不举行正式考试,许多学校仍然使用某种类型的总结性评估。可以使用测验、缩短考试、项目工作、演示文稿和其他类型的评估。这些更全面,可以更准确地了解您孩子的发展情况。

 

分享到 facebook
分享
分享到 linkedin
分享
分享到 twitter
鸣叫

相关文章

作者

IMG
汉娜
一个

关于 SCC

让所有学生在科技教育中获得乐趣和进步的重要性是我们的座右铭。我们希望我们的学生不仅为自己,也为社会创造更美好的未来。无论是为自己的电子游戏编程、为自己的卡通动画制作动画,还是构建机器人,我们的导师都可以通过我们的课程指导他们寻找更新的观点并探索未发现的发现。

fbpx

Tracking  Your Child’s Academic Progress Without Exams

Share on facebook
Share
Share on linkedin
Share
Share on twitter
Tweet
Lower primary kids

Singapore’s Ministry of Education announced in 2019 that mid-year tests for Primary 3 and 5 pupils will be eliminated, as well as no school exams for Primary 1 and 2 children, which went into effect at the start of the year. There are no tests in school? This is certainly something to rejoice over, as it means that children, parents, and even teachers will have one less thing to worry about.

 

Why aren’t there any school exams?

The Ministry of Education intends to move away from grades and toward a more comprehensive learning environment. After all, as adults, we understand that life is about much more than our grades. Additional to a paper exam, there are many other techniques to measure learning. Some people, though, are concerned that this could be an issue. How would parents assess their children’s academic progress? Would parents discover that their children are struggling too late, allowing them to miss out on valuable opportunities to change course and assist their children in improving? While it is critical to look beyond grades, parents must also maintain track of their children’s academic progress so that it is never too late to provide a helping hand.

What you can do to keep track of your child’s academic development in the absence of tests?

 

1. Discuss your children’s school day with them.

Many parents lament the fact that when we ask our children how their days were, they only respond with “Okay” or “Fine.” Instead of asking them a broad Yes/No inquiry about their day, ask them to tell you about a specific lesson or learning point that they found particularly interesting. It’s a good idea to start by asking them about non-academic topics, such as what they did for recess and whether they enjoyed it. Many students also enjoy discussing their extracurricular activities, which provides a fascinating glimpse into their school lives.

 

2. Keep an eye on your kids’ homework.

Physically checking in on their schoolwork by glancing through their marked assignments is also vital. The greatest way to evaluate your children’s learning is to observe how they perform on a daily basis. Is it true that they’ve been getting a lot of errors? What types of errors do they make? If your children’s books have a lot of red markings, try not to get angry or irritated, since this will quickly put them on the defensive and destroy their positive attitude toward learning. Rather, sit down with them and try to figure out why they make certain mistakes. Is their writing sloppy? Is there something the teacher stated that they misunderstood? Is it possible for them to improve their spelling? It’s far easier to catch tiny improvements on a frequent basis than it is to cope with a large backlog later in the year.

 

3. As a parent, change the way you evaluate learning.

Younger children are often able to answer questions vocally but struggle to put their thoughts into paper. This is a normal and developmental process, and it is the fundamental reason that lower primary exams have been eliminated. Many children can understand concepts and ideas in their thoughts, but their inability to write or spell what they are thinking holds them back. There’s no need to be concerned; most children, especially those born later in the year, will catch up on their own. Tutoring sessions, such as the SCC lessons, can sometimes provide a boost. The structure of MOE’s lower primary curriculum is closely tied to SCC learning methodologies, which helps students quickly acquire the application of numerous rules and abilities. This means that parents may trust experts to oversee their children’s education.

 

4. Keep in touch with teachers on a regular basis.

Many schools now have individualized applications that allow instructors and parents to communicate easily. This means you have a direct route to your children’s teachers, allowing you to clear up any questions or inquire about their progress. Although most schools hold regular parent-teacher conferences, you can also contact your children’s teachers through phone or email if you have special concerns about their education. Ask clear questions, such as, “Does my child speak up in class to answer questions?” Rather than nonspecific questions about how your child is doing in school, ask, “Does my child pay attention during lessons?” However, keep in mind that teachers have a lot of huge classrooms to manage as well as their own families. Make sure your queries are succinct and direct. Only communicate with them during business hours, and be patient if they take a while to respond.

 

There are no tests, but periodical assessments are required.

Even if formal examinations aren’t held, many schools nevertheless use some type of summative assessment. Quizzes, shortened examinations, project work, presentations, and other sorts of assessments may be used. These are more comprehensive and provide a more accurate picture of your children’s development.

 

Share on facebook
Share
Share on linkedin
Share
Share on twitter
Tweet

Related Posts

Authors

IMG
Hannah
a
Jin

About SCC

The importance of having fun and progress in tech education for all our students is our motto. We want our students to create a better future not only for themselves but also for society. Whether it’s programming their own videogame, animating their own cartoon, or building a robot, our tutors can guide them to find newer outlooks and explore unfound discoveries through our courses.