fbpx

什么是人工智能?

分享到 facebook
分享
分享到 linkedin
分享
分享到 twitter
鸣叫
Untitled   px

当我提到人工智能 (AI) 时会想到什么?这可能与机器人接管地球有关。
这是我几年前开始研究它时的第一个想法。但是当我更多地了解人工智能如何在编程甚至数学层面上工作时,我明白这不是那样的,而且还有更多。
人工智能 (AI) 是一门创造像电影中一样的机器的科学。

让我们从澄清开始。通用人工智能是大多数人在听到 AI (AGI) 时所想到的。它能够执行人类可以执行的所有任务,但水平更高。然而,事实是我们甚至还没有接近制造一个。狭义人工智能 (ANI) 是现在可用的 AI 形式。你教它一些东西,它会训练自己把它们做得非常好(我的意思是非常好)。但是,如果你给它一个新的任务,它会非常失败。 (当我这样说时相信我。)我已经尝试过了)。

您必须将各种 AI 算法编写到同一个程序中才能开发出可以处理多个任务的程序。对于一个理论上可以席卷全球的人工智能来说,这需要编写大量的人工智能算法,不仅需要很长的时间来开发,而且还需要大量的计算能力来训练和执行!

然而,人工智能会因此而变得不那么令人惊奇吗?一点也不!即使我们不能创建一个可以做好所有事情的程序,我们仍然可以创建擅长一些任务的程序。

人工智能 (AI)

那么,是什么让 AI 如此智能?机器学习是一个神奇的过程。

用户明确输入软件在典型程序中进行判断应遵循的模式。 AI 中的机器学习技术使程序能够自行识别模式。

这是一个插图。

考虑一个数据集,该数据集要求用户根据这些天的平均温度将每一天分类为冰冻、寒冷、温暖或炎热。如果有人自己编写代码,它将被硬编码,这样如果温度为 0°C 或更低,它将被归类为冻结,依此类推。

另一方面,在 AI 中,用户将提交包含温度及其准确分类的数据集,这将训练 AI 自行识别每个类别的温度范围。

如何?

通过不断更新几个常数的值,例如权重和偏差,然后用当前常数测试它的预测能力。

这就像一个球从山上滚到沟里。当它到达最高点时,它会开始慢慢地滚下斜坡。然而,随着它下降,速度会增加,直到它到达最底部。由于它的速度,它将继续前进,并可能开始向对面的山坡上前进。然而,当重力再次将其拉下时,它会减慢并开始下降到底部。它会一直这样下去,直到到达沟底,逐渐失去活力。

球代表常数的值,而沟底代表它们在 AI 中的最佳值。随着程序继续训练,常数将变得更接近其最佳值。但是,如果继续朝着这个方向发展,它很可能会超过理想的数字。之后,软件将开始以相反的方式修改常量。它会一直这样做,直到球落在底部,此时常数将达到理想值。

整个过程中的权重和偏差在决策阶段被放入一个方程(从一个模型到另一个模型),这导致计算机用作其决策的最终结果。

所以,让我们再回顾一遍。

  • 人工智能将无法接管地球。
  • 它专注于完成某些任务。
  • 它通过称为机器学习的过程识别和学习数据中的模式。

既然我们对它的工作原理有了基本的了解,让我们来谈谈如何使用 AI。

应用

人工智能现在几乎可以用于我们文明的方方面面。这适用于从医学到自动驾驶汽车再到军事应用的所有领域。以下是专家目前正在研究的两个基于 AI 的应用程序。

医学预后

当您因目前不易发现的疾病去看医生时,您可能会被转诊至血液检测实验室或放射科医生。

在将您送回家之前,他们会从您那里获取血液样本,以及 MRI、X 射线和其他类型的身体成像。

您的医生将在大约一到两周内收到图像或测试结果,之后他们将开始评估信息。大约一周后,医生会打电话给您,并考虑可能的诊断。

一般来说,这是浪费时间。对于骨折或病情较轻的人来说可能没问题。然而,在有危重病人的医院里,哪怕是一分钟,都可能决定生死。

然后是人工智能。如果您可以在几分钟内得出相同的结论,而不是花几天时间进行诊断,那该怎么办?该计划将通过迅速发现问题的根源来节省抢救患者所需的关键时间,从而使医生能够更快地开始治疗。这可能包括早期癌症检测和治疗,或者允许外科医生查明患者体内肿瘤或损伤的确切部位,然后他们可以通过手术治愈这些部位。

人工智能解决的另一个问题是误诊。今天,所有病例中的 10% 都被误诊,其中许多病例因错过时间或错误治疗引起的并发症而导致患者死亡。医疗失误是美国第三大死亡原因。

人工智能有可能大大降低患者误诊的频率,从而可能挽救全世界数百万人的生命。它已被证明在包括癌症诊断在内的各个领域都优于临床专家。随着人工智能的进步,它很快就能比医生更好地诊断所有疾病。

“如果 [AI] 目前不是地球上最好的诊断专家,那么很快就会成为”——一位著名科学家曾说过

然而,使用人工智能诊断患者会引发一系列伦理问题。首先,如果程序不正确怎么办?那么,该怪谁呢?如果它遇到以前从未见过的东西怎么办?外科医生会寻找更多信息来帮助他们做出诊断。人工智能只会将其标记为最相似的疾病,采用完全不同的治疗方法,对患者无效。

最后,还有人工智能取代人类的问题。如果它可以做得比医生好得多,那它不会很快完全取代医生,怎么说呢?

在我们找到应对此类挑战的解决方案之前,人工智能无法融入医疗环境。人工智能必须在执行其目的时变得更强大、更明智,并且必须制定规则以确保它不会接管我们的工作。

2.自动驾驶汽车

我们都看过电影,其中一个角色进入汽车,告诉它他们想去哪里,然后汽车自己开车去那里。普通人也能做到这一点的日子不远了。

包括优步、谷歌和特斯拉在内的许多公司已经在开发和测试自动驾驶汽车。特斯拉今年声称已经成功打造了完全自动驾驶的汽车,并且在今年之后发布的所有特斯拉汽车都将包含自动驾驶系统。

但是,自动驾驶如何工作?在创建自动驾驶汽车时,关键目标是建立一个可以同时执行多项工作的 AI:

连接到 GPS 以找到前往目的地的最快路线。

密切关注各种驾驶法规(红灯和停车标志停车;在社区减速等)

注意它的周围环境。当行人过马路时,其他车辆在哪里,停车标志有多远等等,人工智能必须知道。

在危险的情况下,迅速做出决定。

很难创建一个能够正确执行所有这些职责的 AI,这就是为什么尚未实施完全自主的系统的原因。

除了创造这样一个人工智能的挑战之外,还存在道德问题。首先,人工智能目前还不足以执行这些职责。已经发生了许多事件,其中自动驾驶汽车做出错误的决定,将其车主置于危险境地。 2016 年 5 月,40 岁的约书亚·布朗在一场致命的车祸中丧生,当时他的特斯拉自动驾驶系统未能停止并与一辆过马路的拖车相撞。

同样,一些人对系统缺乏情感表达表示担忧。考虑以下场景。当你面前的卡车突然停下来时,你正在驾驶你的自动驾驶汽车。你开得太快了,不能停下来,一群行人站在你身后的人行道上。在这种情况下,人工智能会做什么?它会为了挽救你的生命而转向你的家人吗?还是为了挽救家人的生命而牺牲您,所有者?

在我们开发出能够处理此类场景的系统之前,不可能制造出完全可靠的自动驾驶汽车,并且驾驶员必须随时准备好对车辆进行物理控制。

人工智能有多种用途,从太空探索到量子计算再到商业管理。

结论

  • 最后但同样重要的是,这里有一个回顾:
  • 人工智能将无法接管地球。
  • 人工智能只能完成指定的工作。
  • 它学习如何通过机器学习做出决策。
  • 它可用于医疗诊断,以减少误报的数量和诊断患者所需的时间。
  • 人工智能可用于使自动驾驶汽车完全自主且可靠。

围绕人工智能仍然存在一系列道德挑战,例如缺乏情感和缺乏解决问题的经验。

因此,人工智能准备以各种方式改变世界,产生各种社会影响(除了接管它)。随着机器学习模型变得越来越复杂,人工智能最终将能够自己完成更困难的工作。

分享到 facebook
分享
分享到 linkedin
分享
分享到 twitter
鸣叫

相关文章

作者

IMG
汉娜
一个

关于 SCC

让所有学生在科技教育中获得乐趣和进步的重要性是我们的座右铭。我们希望我们的学生不仅为自己,也为社会创造更美好的未来。无论是为自己的电子游戏编程、为自己的卡通动画制作动画,还是构建机器人,我们的导师都可以通过我们的课程指导他们寻找更新的观点并探索未发现的发现。

fbpx

What is AI?

Share on facebook
Share
Share on linkedin
Share
Share on twitter
Tweet
Untitled   px

What comes to mind when I mention Artificial Intelligence (AI)? It’s probably something to do with robots taking over the earth.
That was my first thought when I first started studying about it a few years ago. But when I learned more about how AI works on a programming and even mathematical level, I understood that it’s nothing like that, and yet so much more.
Artificial Intelligence (AI) is the science of creating machines that act like those in movies.

Let’s start with a clarification. Artificial General Intelligence is what most people think about when they hear AI (AGI). It is capable of performing all of the tasks that humans can, but at a higher level. However, the truth is that we aren’t even close to making one. Artificial Narrow Intelligence (ANI) is the form of AI that is now available. You teach it a few things, and it will train itself to do them extremely (and I mean extremely) well. If you give it a new assignment, though, it will fail terribly. (Believe me when I say this.) I’ve attempted it).

You’d have to write various AI algorithms into the same program to develop a program that can handle multiple tasks. For an AI that can theoretically take over the globe, this would entail coding a large number of AI algorithms, which would not only take a long time to develop, but would also require massive amounts of computing power to train and execute!

Is AI, however, any less amazing as a result of this? Not in the least! Even if we can’t create a program that can do everything well, we can still create programs that excel at a few tasks.

Artificial Intelligence (AI)

So, what makes AI so intelligent? Machine learning is a miraculous process.

The user explicitly inputs the pattern that the software should follow to make judgments in typical programs. The machine learning technique in AI enables the program to recognize patterns on its own.

Here’s an illustration.

Consider a dataset that asks the user to classify each day as freezing, cold, warm, or hot based on the average temperature on those days. If someone were to write the code themselves, it would be hardcoded so that if the temperature is 0 °C or lower, it will be classified as freezing, and so on.

In AI, on the other hand, the user would submit a dataset with temperatures and their accurate classifications, which would train the AI to identify the temperature ranges in each class on its own.

How?

By continuously updating the values of several constants, such as weights and biases, and then testing its prediction abilities with the current constants.

It’s like a ball rolling down a hill into a ditch. When it reaches the very top, it will begin to slowly roll down the slope. However, as it descends, the pace will increase until it reaches the very bottom. Because of its speed, it will continue on and may start heading up the hill on the opposite side. However, as gravity pulls it down again, it will slow and begin to descend to the bottom. It will keep doing this until it reaches the bottom of the ditch, gradually losing vitality.

The ball represents the value of the constants, while the bottom of the ditch represents their optimum value in AI. The constants will become closer to their optimum value as the program continues to train. However, if it continues in this direction, it will most likely exceed the ideal number. After then, the software would begin modifying the constants in the reverse manner. It would keep doing this until the ball landed on the bottom, at which point the constants would have reached their ideal value.

The weights and biases throughout the procedure are put into an equation (which changes from model to model) during the decision-making phase, which leads to a final result that the computer utilizes as its decision.

So, let’s go over everything again.

  • AI will not be able to take over the earth.
  • It is laser-focused on completing certain tasks.
  • It recognizes and learns patterns in its data through a process known as machine learning.

Let’s talk about how AI can be employed now that we have a basic understanding of how it works.

Applications

Artificial intelligence can now be used in almost every aspect of our civilization. This applies to everything from medicine to self-driving cars to military applications. Here are two AI-based applications that specialists are currently working on.

The Medical Prognosis

When you go to the doctor with a disease that isn’t easily identified these days, you can be referred to a blood-testing lab or a radiologist.

They would obtain a blood sample from you, as well as MRIs, X-rays, and other types of imaging of your body, before sending you home.

Your doctor would receive the image or test results in about one or two weeks, after which they would begin evaluating the information. The doctor would call you in about a week after that, with a probable diagnosis in mind.

In general, this is a waste of time. It might be fine for someone who has a broken bone or is mildly ill. However, in hospitals with critically ill patients, even a minute might make the difference between life and death.

Then there’s AI. What if, instead of taking a few days to get at a diagnosis, you could arrive at the same conclusion in just a few minutes? The program would save crucial time required to rescue the patient by swiftly detecting the root of the problem, allowing physicians to begin treatment sooner. This might include early cancer detection and therapy, or allowing surgeons to pinpoint the exact site of a tumor or injury in a patient’s body, which they can later heal with surgery.

Another issue that AI addresses is misdiagnosis. Today, 10% of all instances are misdiagnosed, with many of these cases leading to the patient’s death due to missed time or complications from the erroneous therapy. Medical mistake is the third biggest cause of death in the United States.

Artificial intelligence has the potential to substantially reduce the frequency of false diagnoses in patients, potentially saving millions of lives all over the world. It has been demonstrated to outperform clinical specialists in a variety of domains, including cancer diagnosis. As AI improves, it will soon be able to diagnose all ailments better than doctors.

“If [AI] isn’t currently the best diagnostician on the planet, it will be shortly” — once said by a renowned scientist

However, using AI to diagnose patients raises a slew of ethical concerns. First and foremost, what if the program is incorrect? So, who is to blame? What if it comes across something it’s never seen before? A surgeon would look for further information to help them make a diagnosis. AI would just label it as the most similar disease, with entirely different treatments that would be ineffective on the patient.

Finally, there is the issue of AI displacing humans. What’s to say it won’t soon entirely replace doctors if it can do far better than doctors?

AI cannot be incorporated into the medical environment until we have solutions to challenges like these. AI must be developed stronger and wiser at executing its purpose, and rules must be enacted to ensure that it does not take over our employment.

2. Self-driving cars

We’ve all seen movies in which a character gets into a car, tells it where they want to go, and the automobile drives them there on its own. The day when a regular individual can do the same isn’t far away.

Self-driving cars are already being developed and tested by a number of firms, including Uber, Google, and Tesla. Tesla claimed this year that it has successfully built completely self-driving cars, and that all Tesla cars released after this year would include the self-driving system.

How does self-driving work, though? When creating a self-driving car, the key goal is to establish an AI that can perform numerous jobs at once:

Connect to a GPS to find the quickest route to your destination.

Pay close attention to the various driving laws (stopping at red lights and stop sign; slowing down in neighbourhoods, etc.)

Be aware of its surroundings. When pedestrians cross the street, where other cars are, how far away the stop sign is, and so on, the AI must be aware.

In perilous situations, make swift decisions.

It’s tough to create an AI that can properly execute all of those duties, which is why fully autonomous systems have yet to be implemented.

Along with the challenge of creating such an AI, there are also ethical concerns. First, AI isn’t powerful enough to execute these duties at this time. Numerous incidents have occurred in which self-driving cars have made poor decisions, putting their owners in dangerous situations. Joshua Brown, 40, died in a deadly crash in May 2016 when his Tesla self-driving system failed to stop and collided with a trailer crossing the road.

Similarly, several people have expressed concern about the systems’ lack of emotional expression. Consider the following scenario. You’re driving your self-driving automobile when the truck in front of you abruptly comes to a halt. You’re going too fast to stop, and a family of pedestrians is standing behind you on the sidewalk. What does the AI do in that case? Is it going to swerve into your family in order to save your life? Or does it sacrifice you, the owner, in order to save the family’s life?

It will be impossible to build entirely dependable self-driving cars until we develop systems that can deal with scenarios like these, and drivers must be prepared to assume physical control of the vehicle at any time.

AI has a plethora of diverse uses, ranging from space exploration to quantum computing to business management.

Conclusion

  • Last but not least, here’s a recap:
  • AI will not be able to take over the earth.
  • AI is only capable of completing specified jobs.
  • It learns how to make decisions via machine learning.
  • It can be used in medical diagnostics to reduce the number of false positives and the amount of time it takes to diagnose a patient.
  • AI can be used to make self-driving automobiles entirely autonomous and dependable.

There are still a slew of ethical challenges surrounding AI, such as their lack of emotion and lack of problem-solving experience.

As a result, AI is poised to transform the world in a variety of ways, with various societal implications (except for taking over it). As machine learning models get more sophisticated, AI will eventually be able to complete more difficult jobs on its own.

Share on facebook
Share
Share on linkedin
Share
Share on twitter
Tweet

Related Posts

Authors

IMG
Hannah
a
Jin

About SCC

The importance of having fun and progress in tech education for all our students is our motto. We want our students to create a better future not only for themselves but also for society. Whether it’s programming their own videogame, animating their own cartoon, or building a robot, our tutors can guide them to find newer outlooks and explore unfound discoveries through our courses.